Lance Abbott Elected Chairman of CICA's Board of Directors

Empty board room table with black executive chairs and portrait of a man on wood paneled walls

March 19, 2021 |

Empty board room table with black executive chairs and portrait of a man on wood paneled walls

Lance Abbott, CEO of BevCap Management, LLC, has been elected chairman of the board of directors of the Captive Insurance Companies Association (CICA).

Mr. Abbott also serves as director of BevCap Captive Group and as a director/shareholder of HatterasRe, BevCap's sponsored cell captive.

Mr. Abbott cofounded BevCap Management in 2008 to manage BevCap Captive Group, a homogeneous group insurance captive for beer distributors. BevCap Management has since grown to manage multiple group captives in several domiciles and created HatterasRe, a heterogeneous cell captive for medical stop-loss insurance.

"As we enter our second year of living with COVID-19, I am grateful for our supportive CICA members and our resilient organization. The CICA board has maintained our focus on keeping the organization strong and reconfiguring how we provide advocacy, education, and networking during these rapidly changing times," Mr. Abbott said in a statement.

CICA's board also elected Renea Louie as vice president and Nicholas Hentges as secretary/treasurer. Ms. Louie is vice president of Pro Group Captive Management Services, while Mr. Hentges is co-CEO of Captive Resources, LLC.

Returning CICA board members include Courtney Claflin, executive director of captive programs, University of California, Office of the President; Colin Donovan, president, STICO Mutual Insurance Company, a risk retention group; Deyna Feng, director captive programs, Cummins Risk International; Fredrik Finnman, group risk manager, Sandvik Group, located in Sweden; Erin Hackett, senior audit manager, Crowe; Steve McElhiney, senior vice president and director of reinsurance, Artex Risk Solutions, Inc., CICA board immediate past chair; Mary Ellen Moriarty, vice president for property and casualty, EIIA; Michael Scott, attorney, Law Office of Allison and Mosby-Scott; and Michael Zuckerman, assistant professor, Temple University.

CICA also elected Heather McClure to a 3-year term on the organization's board. As chief risk officer for Oklahoma University (OU) Health, Ms. McClure directs the operations of the enterprise-wide OU Medicine and OU Physicians Risk Services Department, serving multiple hospitals with over 2,000 faculty and resident physicians and medical students at the Oklahoma City and Tulsa campuses.

As chief legal officer and vice president of Academic Physicians Insurance Company, the captive insurer of the physicians' practice and the hospital system, Ms. McClure facilitates operations of the company, advises the board of directors, and directs the insurance and reinsurance programs.

"We are excited to welcome Heather to the board," CICA President Dan Towle said in a statement. "Her leadership and advocacy for the captive industry are a perfect fit for CICA."

March 19, 2021