Captive.com logo

Louisiana Captive Domicile Summary

Image of Louisiana State Seal

While Louisiana is an older captive insurance company domicile—the state's captive statute was passed in 2008 and took effect the following year—Louisiana remains a very small domicile. 

Louisiana has just two captives, one that was licensed in 2010 and the second that was licensed in 2013. In 2019, direct written captive premium volume was $68.3 million, all generated by one of the licensed captives. 

While state insurance officials do not anticipate future significant growth, they are very willing to work with potential captive sponsors. 

"We are happy to work with any companies that are interested in Louisiana and meet our requirements," said a spokeswoman for the Louisiana Department of Insurance in Baton Rouge. 

Requirements that captives must meet include, in the case of single-parent  captives, maintaining capital and surplus of at least $500,000, while association captives must have at least $1 million in capital and surplus. 

In addition, a captive's board of directors has to meet quarterly each year. In order to pay dividends from their capital and surplus, captives are required to obtain the permission of Louisiana's insurance commissioner. 

Captives are liable for an annual $1,000 registration fee. Captives also must pay the same premium taxes that are assessed on other insurers. That tax is just over 3 percent of premiums.

Captive Domicile Contacts


For more information, contact
Barry Ward
Deputy Commissioner of Licensing
1702 North Third Street
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802
Phone: (800) 259–5300
Email: [email protected]

Captive Events